Wire - Silver/Lead

Wire - Silver/Lead

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.


GENRE: New Wave, Punk, Post-Punk




Silver / Lead is the 15th studio album from musical pioneers Wire. It arrives on the 40th anniversary of their debut performance. Yet it’s about as far from nostalgia as you could get. This is the sound of a uniquely addictive 21st century psychedelic post-punk. Colin Newman and Matt Simms’ guitar work is alternately jagged and luminous, while bassist Graham Lewis’s ear-catching lyrics are vivid yet oblique. Meanwhile, drummer Robert Grey provides a virtual masterclass in percussive minimalism. But it’s how the various instruments mesh together that really counts. And Newman’s production creates a sonic space in which even the smallest gesture is accorded some recognition. Highlights include the optimistic dazzle of Diamonds In Cups, with its almost T. Rex-style buzz and chug, and the moody swing of This Time. Elsewhere on the musical spectrum, there’s the menacing widescreen grandeur of Playing Harp for the Fishes and breakneck-paced guitar pop of Short Elevated Period.


1. Playing Harp For The Fishes
2. Short Elevated Period
3. Diamonds In Cups
4. Forever & A Day
5. An Alibi
6. Sonic Lens
7. This Time
8. Brio
9. Sleep On The Wing
10. Silver/ Lead