The Milkshakes - 107 Tapes

The Milkshakes - 107 Tapes

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.


GENRE: Punk, Alternative/Indie, Rock

FORMAT: 2 x Vinyl, LP


RELEASED BY: Damaged Goods

This is a re-issue of the 1986 Media Burn compilation of demos from July 1981 and a couple of German live shows from April 1983, back on double LP for the first time in 24 years.

THE MILKSHAKES were mainly Micky Hampshire (Git/Vox) Billy Childish (Git/Vox) Bruce Brand (Drums) Russ Wilkins (Bass)

When his punk band, the Pop Rivets, broke up in 1980, Billy Childish formed a new group with Mickey Hampshire, a Pop Rivets roadie who had been performing in a group called Mickey and the Milkshakes. The two began writing songs together and released their first LP, Talkin' About, in 1981. With Childish on guitar and vocals, Hampshire on guitar and vocals, Bruce Brand on drums, and Russ Wilkins (later replaced by John Agnew) on bass, the Milkshakes sound was a primitive blend of British beat groups, like the early Kinks at their toughest, and hard-rocking American guitar instrumentalists, like Link Wray. This sound came to be known as the "Medway sound" and Childish has been playing a variation on it throughout his whole career. The Milkshakes were a very prolific group, recording nine records in their six years together. Childish and Hampshire split the lead vocal duties and the band was very much a blend of Childish's primitive songwriting and Hampshire's more melodic leanings. The group also masterminded and backed a Medway girl group, the Delmonas. The Milkshakes broke up in 1984 and Childish, Brand, and Agnew went on to form Thee Mighty Caesars where Childish's raw punk-blues could roam untainted by any semblance of professionalism.


  1. The Milkshakes - Pretty Baby
  2. The Milkshakes - Ruhrge Beat
  3. The Milkshakes - Well Well
  4. The Milkshakes - I Want You
  5. The Milkshakes - Flat Foot
  6. The Milkshakes - I Say You Lie
  7. The Milkshakes - Shed Country '81
  8. The Milkshakes - Don't Love Another
  9. The Milkshakes - Mumble The Peg
  10. The Milkshakes - You Did Her Wrong
  11. The Milkshakes - The Red Monkey
  12. The Milkshakes - Let's Stomp
  13. The Milkshakes - Eaten More Honey
  14. The Milkshakes - Tell Me Where's That Girl
  15. The Milkshakes - A Girl Called Mine
  16. The Milkshakes - Little Queenie
  17. The Milkshakes - Jaguar
  18. The Milkshakes - Black Sails (In The Moonlight)
  19. The Milkshakes - Sit Right Down And Cry
  20. The Milkshakes - She Tells Me She Loves Me
  21. The Milkshakes - Soldiers Of Love
  22. The Milkshakes - Monkey Business
  23. The Milkshakes - Let Me Love You
  24. The Milkshakes - El Salvador
  25. The Milkshakes - Boys